Opinion Outpost a Scam? We have the Answer.

by Josh on June 9, 2010

VN:F [1.9.13_1145]
Rating: 4.6/5 (18 votes cast)

Is Opinion Outpost a Scam?

Opinion Outpost. In this lens, we will provide an in depth look into the Survey Research Firm, Opinion Outpost. We will provide our very own analysis on the legitimacy of this website and as well as offer you tips on how to succeed with online surveys. We will evaluate Opinion Outpost and decide whether or not it is worth pursuing. We hope that you find this information very helpful.

It is our goal to help you find legit ways to make money online. There are plenty of ways to make money online, however, many of them appear to be scams. We hope that this resource will help guide you into legitimate opportunities to make money online.

When we first started out, we got scammed plenty of times. We hope that by creating a resource of our experiences, we can inspire others to do the same, so that in a collective effort, we can reduce the possibility of getting scammed.

What is Opinion Outpost?

Upon further research, I have found that Opinion Outpost is operated by Western Watts, which is a very reputable Survey Research Firm. In fact, it has existed since 1987 and is one of the largest Global Research Firms in the World. It has thousands of employees and many offices around the world. Their main headquarters is in Orem, Utah, United States. Each month, Opinion Outpost has around 50,000 new participants and in total they have around 1 million active participants.

What’s great about Opinion Outpost is that they are fairly transparent. Most websites do not list their address in their registrations for the domains. They do a private registration, which hides their details behind a proxy. This is sort of a warning light because it indicates that there might be something to hide. Opinion Outpost, on the other hand has a public registration. They have their contact details and address listed publicly. It looks like Opinion Outpost is fairly established.

Can Opinion Outpost be trusted?

Once you sign up for Opinion Outpost, you will notice a prominent green banner with the words TRUSTe. TRUSTe is a third party that verifies that your website is secure and that any information that you give to the website is strictly confidential and secure and in no way will be shared with any other individuals. TRUSTe is used by companies like Cisco and H&R Block, so it’s great that Opinion Outpost uses the same company too. This provides confidence that Opinion Outpost can be indeed trusted.

Does Opinion Outpost Pay?

Since Opinion Outpost is a fairly large and popular site, it is very easy to find testimonials from people from all over the world. A simple Google search will reveal hundreds of forum posts and the users experiences with Opinion Outpost. I have spent hours reading these threads and I reached the following conclusions:

Opinion Outpost is in fact legitimate and they pay out quite handsomely for participating in the surveys. You earn points by doing surveys and every 10 points that you earn is equal to $1. You get a cheque as your reward. You get many survey offers and you are notified via email. You then fill out profiles and complete the survey and you will get points credited to your account. The surveys do not take long at all and this is a great way to earn some extra cash in your spare time. This is free money and by partnering with Opinion Outpost, you are in trusted in hands.

Many survey companies hardly send out surveys, but this is not the case for Opinion Outpost. Check out the surveys that I have received over this short period.

The points totaled up to 252, which is equivalent to $25.20 dollars. That is pretty great huh?

The bottom line is that this is one of the best and most reputable survey companies that exists today and if you haven’t joined yet, it is highly recommended to sign up to start earning money online. This is literally free money and over the course of a year it really adds up to a significant amount of supplementary income.

Start Earning your First Dollar Online with Opinion Outpost America!

Start Earning your First Dollar Online with Opinion Outpost Canada!

For UK residents, Toluna Surveys UK is a great choice as well!

Another great site that I recommend is Your Free Surveys. This is a legit site and they provide a $4 bonus credited to your account just for signing up. The way to make money with surveys is to sign up for as many legit paying sites as you can. Your Free Surveys is another proven survey site that you can trust. Click here to see Your Free Surveys Official Site.

Opinion Outpost a Scam? We have the Answer., 4.6 out of 5 based on 18 ratings

{ 25 comments… read them below or add one }

Clayborne June 2, 2010 at 7:20 PM

Thanks I found just the info I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t find. What a perfect site.

Camilla Renigar June 5, 2010 at 12:06 PM

I think this blog post was actually a strong start to a potential series of write ups about this topic. A lot of users pretend to know what they’re preaching about when it comes to this stuff and most of the time, very few people actually get it. You seem to know about it though, so I think you need to start writing more. Thanks!

Janice Taggio June 24, 2010 at 2:31 PM

Thanks for this great post about Opinion Outpost. I stumbled upon Opinion Outpost from a forum and I really wanted to know whether Opinion Outpost was legit or not. I tried many other survey sites before and I have heard of Opinion Outpost, but for some reason, I never got around to trying Opinion Outpost.

So I checked and I verified the details listed on this site and it turns out to be true. Opinion Outpost is indeed owned by Western Watts. I went and signed up to Opinion Outpost and immediately after, I qualified for a survey offer. This was 20 points and that was equal to 2.00 from Opinion Outpost.

I stuck with Opinion Outpost for a week and they kept on sending me more offers. Over the week, I had made $20 from Opinion Outpost and I was ready to cash out from them.

Fast forward to today, I got paid by Opinion Outpost!

I just want to say thanks for introducing me to Opinion Outpost! This has been such a great site, much better than the other survey sites that I tried.

Opinion Outpost is great!

butterflyshine June 24, 2010 at 2:43 PM

opinion outpost is the only site that I will trust!

simply because opinion outpost rocks! there’s no one better in the survey field than opinion outpost

nancy June 25, 2010 at 1:16 PM

Have been doing surveys for Opinion Outpost for quite some time now. I find that I do not always qualify for the Opinion Outpost surveys, but when I do, the threshold for Opinion Outpost is very reasonable at $5 and Opinion Outpost sends their checks really quickly. In this economy and particularly during this time of the year (when there are less surveys to do), I welcome the chance to earn a few more dollars very easily and I thank Opinion Outpost for this.

You won’t get rich with Opinion Outpost, but they still are one of my favorites and its great earning with Opinion Outpost!

Angel July 29, 2010 at 8:55 PM

Opinion Outpost is 100% legit. I have been with them for 7 months now, and i have already cashed out two checks, one for $34.84, and the other for $86.40. Even my mother was convinced it was legit( my mom is always scared about viruses and scams) Now she has an account as well, and she is doing pretty good. Once u cash out, it will take about 2-3 weeks to get the check in the mail. all u have to do is go cash it.
I(like some many of us) lost my job due to our economy. For me, Opinion Outpost has given me some extra cash to play with. Its not a lot, but every dollar counts to me. Not to mention that my bf is happy when i help out, in any way i can.
Opinion Outpost is one of the very few sites that ACTUALLY PAYS CASH. WHEN U WANT IT. No points, no collecting millions of points for one lousy 10 dollar card for Starbucks. THEY PAY CASH. As long as u accumulate more then 50 points(easy to do since every survey u qualify is either 10/15/18/20/30/50/100 points EACH) u can cash out.
50 points=5 dollars.
When u sign up, make sure that only ONE ADDRESS PER HOUSEHOLD IS USED. if u have more then once user at the same address, they will BLOCK BOTH ACCOUNTS.
Once signed up, make sure u go to MY PROFILES, and complete them ALL. Only when u completed them all, u will start getting surveys.
Check ur emails OFTEN. Using a windows mobile phone with e-mail, as made my life so much easier, since i get an email the moment they send me a survey, and if im not home, i take the survey ON MY PHONE via Internet.
All in all, Opinion Outpost is 100% real, and fun.

Josh August 2, 2010 at 10:34 PM

Thanks for the sound advice!

paul August 19, 2010 at 12:24 PM

I just returned from Wal-Mart where I attempted to cash a $41.00 check from opinion outpost. I have cashed checks from many sources at Wal-Mart and this was the first time a check was turned down. I called the check verification service they use but all auto-mated and worthless. I then looked up bank check drawn on and called main office in Utah (Zions Bank). Western Wats does maintain an account with Zions but lady I spoke with was in agreement that something had to be amiss if Wal-Mart declined to cash it. My opinion….stay away from opinion outpost. I also have the feeling that this blog is nothing more than a front run by western wats to sucker more folks into joining.

LT September 14, 2010 at 7:09 AM

How long does it take them to send you surveys once your profiles are complete?

Carly Guerrero September 16, 2010 at 4:46 PM

Love this site! have one $50 twice in 6 month period and I get paid quickly and accurately and have been with them almost 2 yrs

Martin Kratz October 25, 2010 at 7:42 AM

Ive been using Opinion Outpost for years..in fact they just sent me another check…this one was for 50$…I have nothing but good things to say!!

tony November 6, 2010 at 12:06 PM

its 4 real that u can take 2 the bank

randy bush November 22, 2010 at 2:42 PM

i have been doing opinion outpost surveys for a long time. I have gotton it down to where i recieve at least one small check from them a month and on occasion have recieved more. Keep up the good ort and thank you

Patrick Mesiti December 11, 2010 at 11:12 AM

I have noticed that Opinion outpost is now sending out and gathering a lot of personal information only to send you a notice at the end of a survey stating that they have reach the quota or that I did not qualify.
What is the sense of giving you preliminary questions and then having you send the data in and then refuse to accept it.
Anyonje else having these problems with Opinion Outpost.
Most likely after this , I will not get many surveys to take.

T December 13, 2010 at 2:17 AM

I joined a few years ago and now get amazon gift cards instead of money because I can save up for big gifts- i bought my daughter a archaeology board game for christmas because she wants to be a archaeologist

I love OO

Garry Bell December 17, 2010 at 11:46 AM

I have been doing polls with them for several months now. The problem is that you don’t often qualify for the full survey so points are not earned. But, I have gotten probably $20-30 dollars in that time. They are pretty prompt about sending out the check.

SamK December 18, 2010 at 2:52 AM

My experience with Opinion Outpost wasn’t so great.

I’ve done about 6 surveys, and every time I finish one, I get a message telling me that I “didn’t qualify” for my reward points. I finally decided to call the site quits.

What’s the catch here to get your answers accepted? I know they say that the answers are screened to check for honesty, and I’ve given honest answers to the questions so this shouldn’t be the problem.

i_b_illin January 17, 2011 at 10:26 PM

tru tru on most everything said i to have cashed out and received physical cash however people must know the hassle of finding a survey that you quallify for. You must fit the right demagraphic to be considered for there survey and the screeners can take up to 20 min just for them to say that your not excepted for this survey, however through diligence i did quallify for one and truely made one dollar. Now i just refer people and average about 25 per week, not rich but nice honey dont know money. overall i very much like and approve of this site.

Amitria January 19, 2011 at 7:18 PM

I’ve been with Opinion Outpost for 3 1/2 years and all I’ve gotten paid $786. It good gas money and has always been on time for me.

jaaayneey January 20, 2011 at 8:30 PM

i just received my cheque today and i was dumbfounded! well of course i was skeptical about survey things like this and getting money just for no sweat answering an online survey anywhere and anytime i want. and now, i am recommending it to my family and friends! TRUSTWORTHY i must say. well of course they wouldn’t give you a survey everyday and at some you may not be qualified but DEFINITELY WORTH THE WAIT. i love this website and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

garry1952 January 21, 2011 at 6:59 AM

I have been doing survyes with the site since Feb of 2010. I have earned $55.00 in that time. They pay by Amazon.com gift cards, an old fashioned check, or Citi card. You do have to accumulate 50 points = $5.00 increments to redeem. I don’t qualify for that many polls – I am 58 and I assume that is part of it. I would imagine their customers are more interested in 20s to 40s. Surveys are fairly quick and easy to do so does not take up too much of your time. And, in these days, every little “free” money does not hurt.

Christina January 26, 2011 at 8:53 AM

I joined opionion outpost a few months ago and I don’t think I’m very happy with it. I’ve been invited to do about 30 surveys and almost all of them quit halfway through. It almost seems like a scam because they ask all these questions and get my opionion on a bunch of stuff, then it will go to a page that says, were sorry but you do not qualify to take the survey, or this survey has already been filled. It seems weird to me that it does that halfway through the survey. I’ve only been able to complete two surveys. Has anyone else had this problem?

Thomas Main February 1, 2011 at 12:30 PM

Could someone let me know how to qualify as i have been with them for about 6 months and have yet to qualify for 1 survey(tried 4 different ones today). Do not think i will be bothering with them after today as i am just wasting my time.

Pennyroll July 3, 2011 at 2:39 AM

OpinionOutpost is one of my favorites as well, but I thought it was only in the US.

Also take advantage of the Restaurant.com payout option, you get the most bang for your buck if you enjoy dining out.

Jennifer Marks July 26, 2011 at 2:27 PM

I have had a couple that I did not qualify for. Make sure your profile info is up to date. Some of the surveys seem to sit half completed for a long time as well — but I think they need a certain number of responses before the survey is completed. My first month it seemed like all my surveys were incomplete but then I had a bunch go thru. My first check was $20 but the one I requested today is $50. Its not a fortune but its great diaper money. :)

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: